Updated October 2026 · Reviewed by Billy Forte
The answer to how long to get Texas drivers license steps done depends on a few fixed time rules plus appointment openings, which DPS posts office by office. The fixed parts are a 360-minute adult course for ages 18 to 24, a 1-hour ITAD video and DPS tests. After you pass, DPS gives you a temporary license and says the card “will typically arrive by mail within 2-3 weeks.”
Key Facts
- Course: at least 360 minutes for ages 18 to 24, and an online certificate within 15 working days. See stage 1.
- ITAD: a 1-hour video, valid for 90 days before the driving test. See stage 2.
- Booking: up to six months ahead, and up to 180 days for road tests. See stage 3.
- Availability: DPS posts estimated days to an appointment for each office. See stage 3.
- The card: a temporary license for 45 days, and the card by mail in about 2-3 weeks, DPS says. See stage 6.
How Long to Get Texas Drivers License: The Timeline Table
DPS does not publish one total time for a first license. It does publish the time rules for each stage. This table pulls them together.
| Stage | Official time rule | Who sets it |
|---|---|---|
| Adult course (ages 18 to 24) | At least 360 minutes, 330 of them instruction | TDLR |
| Online course certificate | By the 15th working day after you finish | TDLR |
| ITAD video | 1 hour, in three modules | DPS |
| ITAD certificate | Valid 90 days before the driving test | DPS |
| Office appointment | Book up to six months ahead | DPS |
| Road test appointment | Book up to 180 days ahead | DPS |
| Temporary license | Use for 45 days or until the card arrives | DPS |
| Card by mail | “typically” 2-3 weeks | DPS |
The gaps between stages are up to you and to appointment openings. The sections below explain each one.
Stage 1: The Adult Course
If you are 18 to 24 and getting your first Texas license, DPS requires a six-hour adult course. If you are 25 or older, skip to stage 2.
The course has a set minimum. TDLR rules 16 TAC 84.502 and 16 TAC 84.503 require 360 minutes in all. At least 330 minutes must be instruction.
No approved course can be shorter. The online rule says courses “may include built-in timers” to track the time. The rule does not set a daily limit, so ask your provider how its course is paced.
Waiting for the Certificate
The certificate is the ADE-1317. Under 16 TAC 84.503, an online provider must issue it “Not later than the 15th working day after the course completion date.”
Fifteen working days equal three full work weeks. With weekends, that is about three calendar weeks or more, so plan your DPS visit with that in mind. Our ADE-1317 guide covers the certificate itself.
How Old the Certificate Can Be
The certificate does not stop counting as proof of the course. But its age changes one thing. Under DPS rule 37 TAC 15.55, applicants under 25 whose certificate is dated two or more years before they apply “will not have any examinations waived.”
So a long gap between the course and your DPS visit can mean taking every test at the office. If your course includes the knowledge test, apply well inside two years.
Stage 2: The ITAD Video
The DPS ITD page lists ITAD as a 1-hour video. The ITAD FAQ says it has three modules. Each must be finished before the next.
Timing is the tricky part. DPS says ITAD “should be completed after the 6 hour Adult Driver Education Course.” It must also be done “no more than 90 days prior to” your driving test.
So ITAD is short, but its 90-day clock matters. Watch it once your test date is in sight, not months ahead.
Set aside the hour on a desktop or laptop. The ITD website says the video does not work on a phone, tablet or iPad.
It asks for Chrome or Firefox. Login also uses a code sent by email, so check your inbox and spam folder before you start.
Stage 3: Getting an Appointment
This stage has the least fixed time. DPS office services are “by scheduled appointment only,” booked at txdpsscheduler.com.
The DPS appointments page says you can book up to six months ahead. The road test FAQ allows road tests up to 180 days ahead, after you apply.
Checking Current Openings
DPS does not promise a wait time. It posts a wait-times report instead.
For each office and appointment type, the report shows “Estimated Appointment Availability in Days.” It also shows the “Average In Office Wait.” DPS says the numbers are “Based on information from the previous business day,” so check it close to when you book.
Same-day slots exist, but DPS says they are “available on a limited basis.” An office kiosk can book one if a slot is open. Our wait-time guide explains how to use the report.

Stage 4: The Office Visit
DPS does not publish how long a visit takes. It does list what happens there. The apply page names these tasks:
- Hand in Form DL-14A and your documents.
- Give thumbprints and a signature, and have your photo taken.
- Pay the fee.
- Pass the vision exam.
- Pass the knowledge test.
If you hold a Texas ID card, DPS says you surrender it when you apply for a license. Arrive no earlier than 30 minutes before your time. DPS cancels the appointment if you are more than 30 minutes late.
Stage 5: The Driving Test
The driving test comes last. The Texas Driver Handbook says it is given “only after all other exams are passed and evidence of financial responsibility is presented.”
You can take it at DPS or with a DPS-certified third-party school. DPS does not state how long the test lasts.
The test also needs a car. DPS says it must have valid registration and insurance, and you cannot be an excluded driver on the policy. Line this up early so a paperwork gap does not cost you the slot.
If You Need a Retest
A failed test adds time. The handbook says that if you do not pass on the first try, “your application will be held for 90 days.”
Texas law allows three attempts per application and fee. After 90 days or three failed exams, you need a new application and fee. DPS states no waiting period between attempts, so the next try depends on when you can book.
Stage 6: Temporary License and Card
Once you pass, you can drive right away. The handbook says you get “a temporary license, which you may use for 45 days or until you receive your permanent license in the mail.”
DPS says the card “will typically arrive by mail within 2-3 weeks.” You can follow it on the DPS Where’s My Driver License page. If it has not come in 45 days, the handbook says to contact customer service.
Our after-the-test guide covers this stage in depth.
What Can Add Time
Some delays come straight from DPS rules:
- Lawful presence checks. DPS verifies lawful presence with the Department of Homeland Security. It cannot issue a license until that check is done.
- A missing document. DPS needs proof of lawful presence, residency and identity before it moves on.
- An expired ITAD certificate. Past 90 days, you take ITAD again.
- Late arrival. More than 30 minutes late cancels the slot.
- A failed exam. You must book another try.
- Old residency bills. Bills and statements must be dated within 180 days.
- Booking the road test first. DPS says you must apply before you schedule a road test.
Timelines for Other Applicants
Ages 25 and Older
DPS lists no driver education requirement for this group. Your timeline starts at ITAD, so stage 1 drops out.
Every DPS test still applies. Our over-25 guide lists that path.
New Residents
The DPS Moving to Texas page says you may drive on an out-of-state license for up to 90 days after moving. Adults with a valid license, or one not expired over two years, skip the course, ITAD and the knowledge and skills tests. They still visit DPS, show documents, take the vision test and surrender the old license.
A Sample Planning Order
This order uses only the official time rules above:
- First: finish the adult course (at least 360 minutes) if you are 18 to 24.
- Within 15 working days: your online certificate arrives.
- Check the report: pick an office with open dates.
- Book: up to six months ahead.
- Within 90 days of the driving test: watch ITAD and print the certificate.
- Test day: pass each test, then drive on the temporary license.
- About 2-3 weeks later: watch the mail for your card.
What We Found on the Official Pages
On the DPS pages we checked on October 26, 2026, no page gave a total time from start to finish. The wait-times report gave estimated days by office and appointment type.
The apply page and the handbook agreed on the temporary license. The apply page used “typically” for the 2-3 week card window.

Common Mistakes to Avoid
Each item comes from a DPS page or TDLR rule:
- Watching ITAD months early. Its certificate is only good for 90 days.
- Booking before the certificate can arrive. Online providers have up to 15 working days.
- Looking for a shorter course. Every adult course is at least 360 minutes.
- Guessing wait times. Check the DPS report for current estimates.
- Ignoring the 45-day mark. Contact DPS if the card has not arrived by then.
How Requirements Can Vary
Texas driver license rules come from state law, Texas DPS rules and TDLR rules, and they apply statewide. What you need still depends on your age, whether you hold a license from another state, and which tests you have already passed.
Laws, fees and office procedures can change. Check the Texas DPS and TDLR websites for current rules before you book an appointment or enroll in a course.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does it take to get a first Texas license?
DPS does not publish one total time. The course is at least 360 minutes, ITAD is 1 hour, and appointment openings vary by office. DPS says the card “will typically arrive by mail within 2-3 weeks” after you pass.
Can I finish everything in one day?
DPS does not say so. The online certificate can take up to 15 working days, and appointments depend on openings.
How far ahead can I book?
Up to six months for office services. Road tests can be booked up to 180 days ahead.
How long is my ITAD certificate good for?
It is valid for 90 days. If you do not pass the driving test in that window, you take ITAD again.
How long can I drive on the temporary license?
The handbook says 45 days, or until your card arrives. Check it for errors before you leave the office.
What if I fail the driving test?
DPS holds your application for 90 days. You get three attempts per application and fee.
How long does the driving test take?
DPS does not state a test length. It does list the skills the examiner grades.
Where can I track my card?
Use the DPS Where’s My Driver License page. If 45 days pass with no card, contact DPS customer service.
Conclusion
A first Texas license takes a 360-minute course for ages 18 to 24, a 1-hour ITAD video, an appointment and three tests. The open question is appointment availability, so check the DPS wait-times report before you book.
Time ITAD to fall within 90 days of your driving test. If you are 18 to 24, you can begin with Driving Logic’s online Texas adult driver education course.
Related Articles
- How to Get a Texas Driver’s License at 18: The Complete Step-by-Step Guide
- How to Book a Texas DPS Appointment for Your First Driver’s License
- Texas DPS Wait Times: How Far in Advance Do You Need to Book Your License Appointment?
- What Happens After You Pass the Texas Driving Test? Getting Your License
Sources
- 16 Tex. Admin. Code § 84.502 — Adult driver education (in person)
- 16 Tex. Admin. Code § 84.503 — Adult driver education (online)
- Texas DPS — Impact Texas Adult Drivers FAQ
- Texas DPS — Impact Texas Drivers (ITD) Program
- Texas DPS — Driver License Services Appointments
- Texas DPS — Appointment Scheduler
- Texas DPS — Driver License Appointment and Office Wait Times
- Texas DPS — FAQ: Scheduling a Road Test
- Texas DPS — Apply for a Texas Driver License
- Texas DPS — Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, PDF)
- Texas DPS — Where Is My Driver License or ID Card?
- Texas DPS — U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Presence Requirement
- Texas DPS — Moving to Texas
Billy Forte is the owner of Driving Logic, a state-approved driver improvement course provider serving Texas and other U.S. states.
This article is general information, not legal advice. Texas driver license and driver education rules are set by Texas law, Texas DPS and TDLR, and they can change. Check the official DPS and TDLR websites for current requirements before you apply.