Florida DETS Course Cost: What to Expect

Updated October 2026 · Reviewed by Billy Forte

The Florida DETS course cost depends on the provider, because Florida does not set one statewide price. On October 19, 2026, four national online DETS courses listed prices from $19.95 to $36, and some showed sales, coupons, or extra fees. The real total also depends on retake rules, certificate fees, and whether you buy a bundle.

Key Facts

  • Price range: $19.95 to $36 list price on four national online courses we checked. See the price table.
  • Discounts: Two schools showed lower sale or coupon prices of $19 and $20. See the details.
  • Extra fees: One school added an $8 state certificate and handling fee, and FLHSMV lists a $3.00 certificate cost. See the hidden costs.
  • Retakes: Some courses include free retakes, and one requires buying the course again after a failed exam. See why it matters.
  • No free state course: FLHSMV approves providers but does not run its own DETS course. See the free options question.

What Four Online DETS Courses Charged

To give you real numbers, we reviewed the public course pages of four large national online schools that sell a Florida DETS course. We recorded what each page showed on October 19, 2026. We left the school names off because prices and offers change often.

School ASchool BSchool CSchool D
List price$19.95$29.00$29.99$36.00
Discount shownNone$19 with couponNone$20 sale
Extra fee shownNone$8 certificate and handlingNoneNone
If you fail the final exam3 tries, then free restartBuy the course again3 tries, free course retakesRetake allowed
Time to finish90 daysNot statedNot statedNot stated

A few things stand out:

  • The cheapest list price was $19.95. The highest was $36, though that school showed a $20 sale price.
  • Only one school showed an extra fee. It added $8 for a state certificate and handling.
  • Retake rules varied the most. That difference can matter more than a few dollars on the price tag.

FLHSMV’s approved list also includes a provider with “$15 DETS” in its name. Check its current price on its own site before you compare.

Costs Beyond the List Price

The number on the course page is not always the full cost. Look for these extras before you pay:

  • Certificate fees. The FLHSMV DETS FAQ lists a $3.00 certificate cost. Some schools include it, and one school we checked charged an $8 certificate and handling fee.
  • Retake charges. If a course makes you buy it again after a failed exam, a second purchase can double your cost.
  • Upgrades. Some schools offer extras like faster support or study tools for an added price.
  • Bundles. One school sold DETS together with an online permit exam and practice tools for $29, down from $46, plus the $8 fee.
What the full Florida DETS course cost can include: course price, certificate fee, retakes, bundles and the learner's license fee

The learner’s license itself has a separate state fee, paid at the driver license office. Check your county tax collector’s office for the current amount.

Retake Rules Can Change Your Total

The DETS final exam has 40 questions, and you need 80% to pass. FLHSMV says a provider may allow up to three attempts. What happens after that depends on the school.

Here is how two schools with similar prices could end up costing very different amounts:

ScenarioSchool with free retakesSchool that requires a new purchase
Pass on the first tryList price onlyList price only
Fail all attempts onceFree restart, same pricePay the full price again
Total after one restartAbout $20 to $30About $40 to $60

The table uses the price range from our review to show the effect. The point is simple: a lower price is not a deal if one bad exam doubles it.

To lower the risk, review the lessons before the exam. Read Florida DETS Course Final Exam: What to Expect to prepare.

What Affects the Florida DETS Course Cost

Since Florida does not set a price, each school decides what to charge. These are the main factors behind the differences:

  • Course design. Courses with videos, animations, or more practice questions may cost more to build.
  • Exam and retake policy. Generous retake rules can be built into the price.
  • Fees. Some schools include certificate costs, and others list them separately.
  • Support. Phone or chat help adds cost for the school.
  • Sales and coupons. Two of the four schools we checked showed a lower promotional price.
  • Bundles. Adding a permit exam or practice tools changes the total.

None of these change what the course must teach. Every approved DETS course must last at least 6 hours and meet or exceed Florida’s school driver education standards.

What You Get for the Price

Every approved DETS course has to include the same core parts, no matter what it costs. When you pay for a course, you should get:

  • At least 6 hours of lessons that meet or exceed Florida’s school driver education standards (course 1900300)
  • A final exam with 40 questions, where 80% is needed to pass
  • Completion reporting to FLHSMV through the Driver Improvement Certificate Issuance System (DICIS)
  • A completion certificate you can save or print for your records

Beyond that, schools compete on extras. Some add practice questions for the learner’s license knowledge exam. Others add mobile apps, audio lessons, or longer support hours.

Extras can be useful, but they do not make a course count more. A basic approved course and a premium approved course meet the same state requirement.

When to Buy the Course

Timing can save money, especially if the course has a deadline. Buy the course when your teen is ready to finish it within the provider’s access window.

Florida law does not set a minimum age to start DETS, so each provider sets its own. Of the four schools we checked, one stated a start age of 14 and a half. Others listed their course for ages 14 to 17 or 15 to 17.

A teen must be at least 15 to get a learner’s license. So many families buy DETS a few weeks before the 15th birthday. That way, the course is done when the teen is old enough to apply.

Questions to Ask Before You Pay

A good school will answer these questions quickly and clearly:

  • Is this the 6-hour DETS course for teens under 18?
  • Which FLHSMV-approved provider’s course is this?
  • Does the price include the certificate fee?
  • How many final exam attempts are included?
  • What happens if the student fails every attempt?
  • How long do we have to finish?
  • Is there a refund if we buy the wrong course?

Write down the answers before you buy. They make it easy to compare two or three courses fairly.

Is There a Free DETS Course?

FLHSMV approves DETS providers, but it does not run its own DETS course. So there is no free course offered directly by the state.

There is one path that may cost less. FLHSMV lets certain school courses count instead of DETS:

  • Florida Department of Education Traffic Safety–Classroom courses 1900300 and 1900310
  • Some county school board DELAP courses

If your teen’s school offers one of these, ask the school about cost and whether it counts. It may replace DETS entirely.

Be careful with websites that promise a free or instant DETS course. A real course must last at least 6 hours, and it must come from an FLHSMV-approved provider.

How to Avoid Paying Twice

The most expensive mistake is buying the wrong course. These checks protect your money:

  • Check approval. Look for the provider on FLHSMV’s approved DETS list, or ask which approved provider’s course a school uses. Our guide to FLHSMV-Approved DETS Course: What It Means and How to Verify Your Provider explains how.
  • Check the course type. DETS is the 6-hour course for teens. The 4-hour TLSAE is for adults and will not count for a teen.
  • Check the retake rule. Know what happens if the student fails the final exam.
  • Check the deadline. One school gave 90 days to finish, and others did not say.
  • Check the total at checkout. Look for certificate or handling fees before you pay.

A student who takes an unapproved course or the wrong course may need to start over with a new purchase.

Other Costs on the Way to a Learner’s License

DETS is only one cost. Families should also plan for these:

  • The learner’s license fee, paid at the driver license office
  • A notary fee, if a parent cannot attend and must have the HSMV 71142 consent form notarized
  • Online knowledge exam fees, if you take the exam online through a third-party administrator instead of at an office
  • Time off work or school for the driver license office visit

For online knowledge exams, a parent or guardian must also complete form HSMV 71144, according to FLHSMV’s required forms for teens.

A Simple Way to Compare Courses

Use this short checklist when you look at two or three courses side by side:

  1. Write down the list price and any sale price.
  2. Add any certificate or handling fee.
  3. Note the retake rule and what a second purchase would cost.
  4. Note the time limit to finish the course.
  5. Confirm FLHSMV approval.
Five steps to compare Florida DETS course costs: price, fees, retake rule, time limit and FLHSMV approval

The course with the best total value is the approved one with clear fees and a fair retake rule.

Keep your receipt and the provider’s support contact after you buy. If the completion does not show up when you visit the driver license office, the provider can confirm when it reported your course to FLHSMV. For more on how the course works, read Florida DETS Course Online: How the 6-Hour Program Works.

How Requirements Can Vary

Florida’s course and license rules apply statewide, but some details depend on where you live. Driver license services are often handled by your county tax collector’s office, and each office sets its own appointment process and hours. Some county school boards also offer driver education programs, such as DELAP courses, that can count instead of DETS.

FLHSMV can update course rules, forms, documents, and fees. Check FLHSMV and your county office for current requirements before your appointment.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the DETS course cost in Florida?

Prices vary by provider. Four national online courses we checked on October 19, 2026, listed $19.95 to $36, with some sales and coupons lower.

Does Florida set the price of the DETS course?

No. FLHSMV approves providers, and each provider sets its own price.

Are there extra fees for the DETS certificate?

Sometimes. FLHSMV’s DETS FAQ lists a $3.00 certificate cost, and one school we checked charged an $8 certificate and handling fee.

What happens if I fail the DETS final exam?

It depends on the provider. Some give free retakes or a free restart, and one school we checked requires buying the course again.

Is there a free DETS course in Florida?

The state does not offer its own DETS course. Some school driver education courses count instead of DETS, so ask your teen’s school.

Do online DETS courses include the permit test?

Not usually on their own. One school we checked sold DETS in a bundle with an online permit exam and practice tools for $29 plus an $8 fee.

Can I get a refund if I buy the wrong course?

Refund rules vary by school. Ask before you pay, and confirm you are buying the 6-hour DETS course for a teen under 18.

Is a cheaper DETS course still valid?

Yes, if it comes from an FLHSMV-approved provider. Price does not affect whether the course counts.

Conclusion

The Florida DETS course cost ranged from $19.95 to $36 on four national online courses we checked, with sales, coupons, and fees changing the total.

Retake rules and certificate fees can matter more than the list price. Confirm approval and the full checkout total before you pay. Driving Logic is a state-approved driver improvement course provider, and our online Florida DETS course is coming soon.

Sources


Billy Forte is the owner of Driving Logic, a state-approved driver improvement course provider serving Florida and other U.S. states.

This article is general information, not legal advice. Florida licensing requirements, course rules, documents, and fees are set by FLHSMV and Florida law and can change. Use official FLHSMV and Florida statute sources for current requirements before you enroll in a course or visit a driver license office.